Minutes Board of Directors meeting September 10, 2020

In attendance: Amy Shallcross, Sue Lowry, Drew Dehoff, Jodee Pring, Rhonda Manning, Julie Cunningham, Kirsten Wallace, Jennifer Hoggatt, Earl Lewis and Brian Atkins


  • The ICWP Financial Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) were approved by the Board

Action Items:

  • Complete Principle Statements and send them to Sue Lowry by COB September 16th 


Amy called the meeting to order at 12:02 pm Central time.  The Board summary from the July 30, 2020 call was approved.  Kirsten Wallace made the motion to approve the summary and Jennifer Hoggatt seconded the motion. 

Treasurer’s Report:

Drew Dehoff reviewed the Treasurer’s report in advance of the one to be submitted at the end of the month.  Total net assets were $140,947.49 after expenses as of August 31, 2020.  A total of $10,500 in dues payments were received during the month including dues for a new affiliate member, Aqua Strategies.  The ICWP financial standard operating procedures (SOP) were approved by the Board; Julie Cunningham made the motion to approve the SOP and Rhonda Manning seconded the motion.  The Board agreed to have the SOP document posted to the Administrative area of the ICWP website.  The treasurer’s report is attached.

Executive Director’s Report:

The Executive Director’s Report dated August 31, 2020 is attached and was distributed to the full Board. Sue Lowry, ICWP Executive Director, reported that she had participated on a panel in the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (AFWA) Sub-committee on Water webinar on August 10th.    Other topics covered on the webinar were the Critical Habitat Assessment Tool (CHAT), the Western States Water Council’s Water Data Exchange (WaDE) and the Internet of Water (IoW).  In addition, Sue also participated and spoke to the September 9th meeting of the AFWA Water Subcommittee and also participated in the National Water Supply Alliance’s D.C. Advocacy Zoom Workshop on that same day.  Discussion was held on NWSA’s relationship with VanScoyoc and the Board asked Kirsten and Sue to look into the viability of ICWP perhaps becoming one of VanScoyoc’s clients for specific topics. They will report back on the next Board meeting.

Upcoming ICWP Meetings:

2020 ICWP 61st Annual Meeting

ICWP’s Annual Meeting will be held virtually this year with four sessions scheduled on October 6, 8, 13, and 15.  All sessions will begin at 9 a.m. Mtn; 10 a.m. Central; 11 a.m. Eastern and will last for 2 1/2 hours each and will be held in a WebEx platform.  The focus of each daily meeting will be:

October 6 (Tuesday) —Water Planning Focus—A few more states would be good to add to the panel.  Jodee has made several contacts and is hopeful that TX will commit to present.  Julie added that she could ask one of her staff to speak on the water quality issues between OK and AR on the Illinois River if needed. 

October 8 (Thursday)—Water Data and Science Focus

October 13 (Tuesday) —Legislation and Policy Focus  Sue has reached out to Tim Petty both via phone and email and has not heard back any response.  She will try again through USGS contacts to obtain Tim’s scheduler’s contact info. 

October 15 (Thursday)— Interstate Water Management Focus and Annual Members’ Meeting

The focus of the Annual Member’s Meeting will be on:

  •  Election of Board of Directors
  • Principles Statements
  • Committee Reports
  • Updates from Chair, Executive Director and Treasurer

The agenda for those virtual meetings is being finalized regarding potential topics and speakers.  ICWP will offer Continuing Education credits this year for the annual meeting for those needing a certificate for their professional licensing requirements.  The Board agreed that a $50 handling fee for documenting participation for the certificate was a reasonable amount.  Sue will write up information for the next annual meeting announcement. 

The Nominating Committee, consisting of Kirsten Wallace, Jennifer Hoggatt, and Brian Atkins, gave a report.   The Nominating Committee presented the following list of names as nominees for election of Board of Directors during the October 15th Annual Member’s Meeting:

  • Amy Shallcross
  • Rhonda Manning
  • Pooja Kanwar
  • Matt Unruh

In addition, the list of nominees submitted for officers is as follows:

  • Kirsten Wallace, Chair
  • Drew Dehoff, 1st Vice Chair
  • Jennifer Hoggatt, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Brian Atkins, Secretary 
  • Brian Atkins, Treasurer       

There was discussion about Principles Statements from the Committees needing to be submitted and emailed to the Board members soon so that the statements can finalized for the October 15th meeting.  In addition, outreach to other states and inviting potential members to the virtual meeting was also discussed.  

Other Business

As the Board discussed during its strategic planning sessions in August, Jodee Pring reached out to Tara Kuipers to see if she could help the Board with updating our ICWP Strategic Plan.  Ms. Kuipers is a facilitator, educator, coach and project manager from Cody, Wyoming.  Sue will let the Board members know when Ms. Kuipers submits a proposal regarding how to proceed.

Board Meetings

Next call scheduled for October 1 at 9 a.m. Central time.


The meeting was adjourned at 1:21 p.m. Central Time by Chair Amy Shallcross.