

Beth Callaway, Executive Director
P.O. Box 20908
Cheyenne, WY 82003
Beth@icwp.org
307-772-1999
www.icwp.org

June 6, 2022

United States House of Representatives The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Minority Leader Washington, D.C. Delivered via E-mail

RE: Water Resources Development Act (H.R. 7776)

Dear Leaders Pelosi and McCarthy:

Membership of the Interstate Council on Water Policy (ICWP) includes state and interstate water resources management agencies, each who work closely with the US Army Corps of Engineers (Corps) in the efficient management of water resources in their respective states or interstate river basins. We understand that the Water Resources Development Act (WRDA) 2022 will be considered for House of Representatives floor discussion this week. **ICWP offers strong support for its passage in a timely manner.**

WRDA traditionally passes on a regular, two-year authorization cycle. Thank you for keeping to this schedule and prioritizing this bipartisan effort. This is one of the most significant pieces of water resources legislation that greenlights federal projects to serve interests of all Americans.

In the meantime, please be aware that ICWP has long advocated for the need to improve the ability of non-federal partners to be active equals on Corps-partnered projects. As WRDA 2022 legislation is finalized, we ask that limited joint or several liability for non-federal sponsors of projects and studies associated with Corps Project Partnership Agreements (PPAs) to be broadly applied for projects nationwide. At the appropriate time, we would like to engage with House Transportation and Infrastructure committee staff further on this matter.

If you have any questions regarding these comments as WRDA 2022 is debated, please contact me at: <u>Beth@icwp.org</u> or 307-772-1999. Thank you for the opportunity to provide this input.

Regards,

Beth Callaway

ICWP Executive Director

CC: The Honorable Peter DeFazio, Chairman, Transportation & Infrastructure Committee The Honorable Sam Graves, Ranking Member, Transportation & Infrastructure Committee

The Honorable Grace Napolitano
The Honorable David Rouzer